Tamarind – 1 Michelin Star

July 2015

Chef: Peter Joseph

This is the first Indian restaurant with a Michelin star which I have visited and this seemed a good choice it being, as their website tells me, one of the first Indian restaurants in the world to be awarded a Michelin star.

The style of the restaurant is cosy and the decor is a pleasing mixture of gold decoration and clean, crisp black and white tables and chairs.

I chose the Papdi Chaat to start which I did enjoy but the ratio of yoghurt to the accompaniments seemed too much and I found it a little on the rich side to be perfect. Mr M had Pudhina lamb cutlets which we flavoursome and well cooked.

For the main we both chose Murgh Tikka Masala. I can’t remember the last time I ordered a Tikka Masala but this seemed like the place that would do it best. The meat was very good and was, like the lamb, very well cooked being soft and succulent. The curry was also very enjoyable.

For dessert I chose Shrikhand, again well made.

In summary we had a good meal. I felt that the ingredients were high quality and the food was all well cooked. I wasn’t completely enamoured by this place however and I actually feel that I have had better Indian meals in other non-Michelin starred restaurants. I don’t have any criticism of the restaurant but I struggle to muster more than a rather muted praise for it. Good but not outstanding.

Rating: 6/10

 

Leave a comment